Airport Management


John T. Carni, Director of Airport Operations and Interim Executive Director

Providing more than 2 million passengers annually with direct service to 24 destinations, Syracuse Hancock International Airport (SYR) is central New York’s gateway to the world. For many visitors, we are their first and last impressions of the region. We work tirelessly to provide the traveling public with safe, secure, convenient and affordable air travel.

Over the past year, SYR has seen unprecedented air service development. Recognizing the need to provide low cost, convenient, nonstop service to key markets and destinations, we will continue to pursue new air service opportunities. These include new markets, more frequency, additional capacity and better aircraft.

While pursuing further air service development, we will continue to promote Central New York as one of the largest markets in Upstate New York. Having undergone a recent $65 million Terminal Improvement Project, we feel confident in our role as the official greeters to those visiting Central New York. Whether travelers are visiting for business or purely for pleasure, the staff of the SRAA and Department of Aviation work 24/7 to ensure we are putting our best foot forward to welcome them to our region.

When you visit SYR, whether for the first time or as a return traveler, it is my sincere hope that you will enjoy our clean and comfortable terminal building, as well as our safe and secure airfield. We would like to thank the millions of passengers who have already done just that. With the needs of the traveling public of Central New York and beyond at the center of our focus, we look forward to bringing you new and expanded services in the future.


Management Directory

Trent Amond
Chief Financial Officer

Ron Bowles
Director of Airfield Maintenance

Joanne Clancy
Executive Assistant to Executive Director

Beth Cooper
Airport Security Coordinator

Brian Dorman
Director of Engineering

Elana Essig
Management Assistant

Maureen Fogarty
Fiscal Officer

Dennis Greco
Director of Airport Security

John Herne
Ground Transportation Officer

Cheryl Herzog
Information Technology Services Administrator

Debi Marshall
Human Resource Manager

Dennis Mathers
Director of Terminal Maintenance/Landside

Antimo Pascarella
Airport Operations Officer

Linda Ryan
Aviation Contracting Officer

Dan Ryan
Assistant Airport Security Coordinator

William Ryan
Director of Business Development

Jennifer Sweetland 
Director of Marketing, Communications and Air Service Development

Matthew Szwejbka 
Marketing and Communications Specialist



Contact Us

If you wish to contact airport staff, please call (315) 454-3263 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. You can also email the airport through our Contact Us page.